Testimonials and Reviews

Grant D. Shifflett, M.D. -  - Spine Surgeon

Grant D. Shifflett, M.D.

Spine Surgeon located in Marina Del Rey, CA & Newport Beach, CA

29 total reviews

Dr. Grant D. Shifflett always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 29 reviews with an average rating of 4.93 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Grant Shifflett below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Dr. Shifflett is attentive, concerned and practical. I highly recommend him.
Bonnie J.
01/18/19
Dr. Shuffler was professional, interested, knowledgeable and kind. He answered all my questions. Barry B
Barry B.
01/17/19
My wife and I meet with Dr Shifflett to discuss my problems with my cervical and lower lumber spine because I needed another opinion from those that stated I need major surgery immediately. Dr Shifflet took considerable time with us going over the results of the MRI and X-Rays and the problems I had. He plan that at the beginning did not require surgery but therapy and injections and monitoring with micro surgery if my situation did not improve. He contacted my primary doctor and discussed with him and we have agreed on the plan. While other doctors wanted to operate right away Dr Shifflet took the time to to have a plan that would minimize my pain and a alternative to major surgery. We were impressed with the clarity in explaining the issues and his compassion .
Keith M.
01/17/19
So easy to talk to. Answered all my questions. Seemed really concerned.
Lauren O.
01/16/19
I had a C6-C7 disc implant by Dr Shifflett Aug 2018. I had visited 2 other specialists prior to seeing him, each having different recommendations. The first specialist recommended fusion of C6-C7 due to the level of bone degradation I have, stating an implant would likely not work. The second specialist recommended fusion of all 4 vertebrae C4 thru C7 due to other disc protrusions I had in those interfaces. Of course given I do not generally like to fix things that are not broken, I disregarded the second opinion at the outset. The first opinion I did consider, however knowing an implant would increase the spacing in my spine and this could possibly cause pinching of nerves in areas that were not an issue. I reasoned that if the implant turned out to be a problem I could later resort to the fusion as a last resort. So, I gave it a try and I am glad I did. Dr Shifflett answered all of my questions, and was very patient with me. He was not in a rush and we met on more than one occasion to discuss the procedure. The procedure took a bit more than 1 hour and was performed at the Newport Beach facility. A very clean, professional place and the staff there was outstanding. They prefer an overnight stay to be sure all is well, and I was extremely comfortable. My recovery was great, with no issues afterward. No new pains and healing has gone well. We did a series of follow-ups. and each time I was given ample time to discuss how I was doing. I HIGHLY recommend Dr Shifflett and his team !!!
Michael V.
01/16/19
Dr S took time to explain my condition and my options concerning my neck.
Debra T.
01/13/19
Wait was too long. Otherwise very good
Michael P.
01/11/19
Professional helpful staff right from the start both Ryan and Blake, thank you so much, Dr. Was smart and methodical going over all of my Imaging and everything I came in with a pile of CTS and MRIs and everything else Under the Sun from now on from two years ago excetera and they compiled it to where it kind of made sense and doctor then reviewed it I just think they did an awesome job total Aces
Charles D.
01/04/19
Great!
William M.
01/04/19
DISC Surgery Center, Dr. Shifflett and his staff run a great facility. Having had three back surgeries, one in a hospital and two at DISC, their care was so much more personal in that environment. Thanks Dr. Bray and partners for creating what you have
William M.
12/29/18
OMG! The best Doctor! Had two disks replaced two weeks ago. Now I have my groove back! Highly recommend this Doctor. Beautiful surgery center.
Toni P.
12/27/18
I was extremely grateful to get an appointment with Dr. Shifflett and Dr Bray in such short notice and as a result of a very concise but specific analysis of my disc issue, I’ve agreed to surgery for early next week. Now awaiting a specific date and time. My thanks to both doctors for their kindness and helpful guidance. Rosalie Swedlin
Rosalie S.
12/12/18
Dr. Shifflett and staff have may me comfortable since our initial meeting. Their care and concern have made all the difference in my recovery.
Lisa A.
12/07/18
My appointments Dr. Shifflett are what doctor visits should be. He listens, explains, understands, and is patient. He will stay with you as long as you need, I’ve never felt that I’m one of a ton of patients he has to see, I feel like the only patient. He has made me assured throughout the process of diagnosing and ultimately leading to surgery.
Gabriel G.
12/06/18
Dr. Grant Shifflett expertly diagnosed the debilitating, extremely painful back and leg problems that had been plaguing me for months. The surgery he performed was very successful and I can now walk (3 weeks post-op) almost entirely pain-free. Dr. Shifflett is easy to talk to, a good listener, down-to-earth, caring and pro-active. His office staff is helpful and responsive. I am very grateful to Dr. Shifflett and his team!
Marvin G.
10/25/18
I was suffering with severe stenosis at D4 AND D5. Before surgery I was in almost continuous back and leg pain. One and a half weeks after surgery I had NO pain!! Dr. Shifflett is an incredible surgeon and a wonderful, and caring person.
Earl C.
09/02/18
Dr. Shifflett was attentive & gave me an impressive amount of time for a thorough description and analysis of my condition.
Barbara G.
06/10/18
Dr. Shiflett was great! He took the time to examine and review my X-rays with me. He thoroughly explained his findings and I never felt rushed. You can tell that Dr Shiflett genuinely cares for his patients. Not only is Dr Shiflett a great doctor but he also has a great bedside manner!
Jessica G.
05/22/18
An exceptional man. Gracious, kind, clear in explanation and attentive to all details of care and concern. A very good experience. IF I had to have surgery I am so glad I had this man, this office, to take care of me.
Alan B.
05/13/18
Dr Grant Shifflett, You are one amazing Doctor and a great person. I am so blessed I met you, you give your profession a great name. Thank you, Judy Geller
Judy G.
05/12/18
Our Locations

Choose your preferred location