Testimonials & Reviews

4.94/5
Grant D. Shifflett, M.D. -  - Spine Surgeon

Grant D. Shifflett, M.D.

Spine Surgeon located in Marina Del Rey, CA & Newport Beach, CA

80 total reviews

Dr. Grant D. Shifflett always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 80 reviews with an average rating of 4.94 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Grant Shifflett below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Greg D.
Submitted 03/13/19
Extremely nice and informative.
Laura D.
Submitted 03/11/19
Dr. Shifflett listened to everything I said and answered all of my questions that I had at our first appt. He seemed to really understand and pay attention to my concerns. I am feeling very confident moving forward with Dr. Shifflett.
Jeffrey T.
Submitted 03/06/19
Thought the onboarding via text was great. Followup was good too
Richard R.
Submitted 02/20/19
Every part of the experience with Disk, Dr Bray and Dr Shifflet from the beginning to the end was amazing experience Those professional experience I’ve ever had in business or personal experience Thank you so much for helping me be healthy again
Shira R.
Submitted 02/16/19
The doctor was very nice and he explained my concerns
Marcus W.
Submitted 02/16/19
Very through. Excellent staff. Scheduled futher visits. Very comforting.
John D.
Submitted 02/05/19
Dr Shifflett was very personal and professional
Douglas A.
Submitted 02/02/19
Dr Shifflett listens carefully. To me that’s the first sign of a good doctor
Jeffrey B.
Submitted 01/30/19
Everyone there in office and in the labs were both courteous and friendly. Felt very welcomed.
Rosalio G.
Submitted 01/30/19
Dr Shifflett takes the time to listen to your issues and covers all the possible solutions available to you. You never feel rushed and he helps extend a possible attitude so you know you are getting the best care and advice available. Recommend him for a primary evaluation or as a second opinion. He was my second opinion doctor as I was not satisfied with the advise and options given to me by the surgeon that performed my first spinal surgery. I immediately felt that my issue was going to be handled in the best possible manner.
Kristin J.
Submitted 01/23/19
After several years of procrastination I discovered DISC, and Dr. Shifflett, and made an appointment to address my multiple lower back issues. At my first appointment I knew he was the right doctor for me. After all the scans and imaging were done, I was shocked to find out that my neck was actually in far worse shape than my back! It was decided to do the cervical artificial disc replacement. Had some bumps along the way due to miscommunication from my other doctors and imaging places, and Dr S. took the time to call me personally several times to answer questions and resolve issues. Dr. S. has always been very generous of his time, and you never feel rushed at your appointments. He explains things in layman terms, and is very warm and personable. My surgery at the Surgery Center went smoothly, and the care was excellent. The Imaging Center across the street is also fabulous, and so handy. Dr Shifflett's assistant Blake is also great, and helped me a lot in navigating all the insurance issues. I just had a follow up appt. yesterday, and again, much discussion about many things, I actually look forward to going! Thanks again everyone at DISC!
Kristine C.
Submitted 01/21/19
Terrific doctor. This was my one year check up post back fusion and I feel fabulous. It was a perfect surgery. I recommend Dr. Shifflett to everyone. You owe it to yourself to find out about his minimally invasive surgery. Recovery was a breeze.
Bonnie J.
Submitted 01/18/19
Dr. Shifflett is attentive, concerned and practical. I highly recommend him.
Barry B.
Submitted 01/17/19
Dr. Shuffler was professional, interested, knowledgeable and kind. He answered all my questions. Barry B
Keith M.
Submitted 01/17/19
My wife and I meet with Dr Shifflett to discuss my problems with my cervical and lower lumber spine because I needed another opinion from those that stated I need major surgery immediately. Dr Shifflet took considerable time with us going over the results of the MRI and X-Rays and the problems I had. He plan that at the beginning did not require surgery but therapy and injections and monitoring with micro surgery if my situation did not improve. He contacted my primary doctor and discussed with him and we have agreed on the plan. While other doctors wanted to operate right away Dr Shifflet took the time to to have a plan that would minimize my pain and a alternative to major surgery. We were impressed with the clarity in explaining the issues and his compassion .
Lauren O.
Submitted 01/16/19
So easy to talk to. Answered all my questions. Seemed really concerned.
Michael V.
Submitted 01/16/19
I had a C6-C7 disc implant by Dr Shifflett Aug 2018. I had visited 2 other specialists prior to seeing him, each having different recommendations. The first specialist recommended fusion of C6-C7 due to the level of bone degradation I have, stating an implant would likely not work. The second specialist recommended fusion of all 4 vertebrae C4 thru C7 due to other disc protrusions I had in those interfaces. Of course given I do not generally like to fix things that are not broken, I disregarded the second opinion at the outset. The first opinion I did consider, however knowing an implant would increase the spacing in my spine and this could possibly cause pinching of nerves in areas that were not an issue. I reasoned that if the implant turned out to be a problem I could later resort to the fusion as a last resort. So, I gave it a try and I am glad I did. Dr Shifflett answered all of my questions, and was very patient with me. He was not in a rush and we met on more than one occasion to discuss the procedure. The procedure took a bit more than 1 hour and was performed at the Newport Beach facility. A very clean, professional place and the staff there was outstanding. They prefer an overnight stay to be sure all is well, and I was extremely comfortable. My recovery was great, with no issues afterward. No new pains and healing has gone well. We did a series of follow-ups. and each time I was given ample time to discuss how I was doing. I HIGHLY recommend Dr Shifflett and his team !!!
Debra T.
Submitted 01/13/19
Dr S took time to explain my condition and my options concerning my neck.
Charles D.
Submitted 01/04/19
Professional helpful staff right from the start both Ryan and Blake, thank you so much, Dr. Was smart and methodical going over all of my Imaging and everything I came in with a pile of CTS and MRIs and everything else Under the Sun from now on from two years ago excetera and they compiled it to where it kind of made sense and doctor then reviewed it I just think they did an awesome job total Aces
William M.
Submitted 01/04/19
Great!